Florida Football: Alex Brown can cement his legacy with Hall of Fame vote

The all-time leader for sacks in Gainesville is up for the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame
RVR Photos-USA TODAY Sports

When one thinks of the all-time greats to play for Florida Football, players like Tim Tebow, Emmitt Smith, and Jack Youngblood come to mind as legends of the Orange and Blue.

Yet one who seems to have to fight his way onto the lists of all-time Gator greats is up for an honor that can cement his legacy not only with Florida, but with college football as a whole.

Florida Football: Sack Attack

Poke around on the internet for "Greatest Florida Gator Football Players," and it is not guaranteed that Alex Brown will appear on every list. The defensive end came to Gainesville as a true freshman in 1997, and by the time he left in 2001, he racked up 33 sacks, including 13 in 1999 and 10.5 in 2001.

His mark of 33 career sacks still holds as the all-time record for a Florida Gator. Brown was an All-American three times and was the SEC Defensive Player Of The Year in 2001. He went on to be drafted by Chicago and played in the NFL from 2002 through 2010.

Brown was elected to the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame in 2012, but his status in Gator lore always seems to get overshadowed by the players from the 1996 national title team or the players who came after him during the Urban Meyer Era.

The National Football Foundation released their ballot today for the College Football Hall of Fame with 77 former FBS players and nine former coaches, including Nick Saban, to be voted on for the class of 2025.

Brown is on the ballot alongside fellow Gator Brad Culpepper, as well as other notable names such as Montee Ball, Mark Ingram, DeSean Jackson, and Aaron Donald.

The list of those chosen for the class of 2025 will be announced early next year.