Sep 21, 2013; Gainesville, FL, USA; Florida Gators defensive back Vernon Hargreaves III (1) breaks up the pass of Tennessee Volunteers wide receiver Josh Smith (25) during the second half at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. Florida Gators defeated the Tennessee Volunteers 31-17. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Vernon Hargreaves Named to Walter Camp Watch List

Another day, another award watch list for Gators cornerback Vernon Hargreaves III. Hargreaves was named Friday to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Watch List. This comes on the heels of him being named to a few other prestigious awards as well as a preseason All-SEC pick.

Hargreaves had an incredible freshman season for Florida. When quarterbacks threw his way, he was there to breakup the passes or intercept them. His 11 pass breakups are tops in UF history and his three interceptions, including two in his first two games, tied him for seventh in the SEC. Hargreaves’ performance earned him National Defensive Freshman of the Year, First Team All-Freshman, SEC Newcomer of the Year, First Team All-SEC, Third Team All-America, Freshman All-SEC, and Third-Team All-American honors.

The Walter Camp Award is given out to the player of the year in college football. Hargreaves is also on the watch lists for the Chuck Bednarik for best defensive player, Bronco Nagurski given to the most outstanding defensive player, and the Jim Thorpe which goes out to the top defensive back. He’s just one of five sophomores named to the 50 player list.

VH3 will look to join Danny Wuerffel as the only Gators ever to win the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. Wuerffel won the honors in 1996 and Tim Tebow was a finalist in 2008. He’ll have some stiff competition to come home with the honors, however. Reigning Heisman Trophy winner and Florida State QB Jameis Winston tops the list, along with Georgia RB Todd Gurley, and Oregon QB Marcus Mariota among others.

The list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November before the winner is announced live on SportsCenter on December 11. The award is actually handed out January 17 in New Haven, CT at the Foundation’s awards banquet.

As always, discuss in the comments section, Facebook and Twitter.

Tags: Danny Wuerffel Florida Gators Football Tim Tebow Vernon Hargreaves Walter Camp Award

comments powered by Disqus