Oct 20, 2013; Landover, MD, USA; Washington Redskins tight end Jordan Reed (86) runs with the ball during the first quarter against the Chicago Bears at FedEx Field. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Florida Gator Alumni Jordan Reed and Caleb Sturgis Named to NFL All-Rookie Team

Although the Washington Redskins and Miami Dolphins did not make a trip to the NFL playoffs this season, a former Gator player from each squad, Washington tight end Jordan Reed and Miami kicker Caleb Sturgis, was named to the Professional Football Writers of America All-Rookie Team on Tuesday.

Reed missed much of the season due to injury but still managed to finish the year with 45 receptions, 499 receiving yards (both single-season rookie TE records for the Redskins) and three touchdowns.

Oct 27, 2013; Foxborough, MA, USA; Miami Dolphins kicker Caleb Sturgis (9) watches his field goal attempt against the New England Patriots during the second quarter at Gillette Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Sturgis won the starting kicker job as a rookie for good reason, making all three of his field goal tries in his very first NFL game and successfully hitting his first ten attempts overall. By the end of the season, he had made 26 of 34 field goals (a 76.4% kicking percentage) and all 33 of his extra points. Opponents had a hard time returning his opening kicks as well, as 38 of his kickoffs went for touchbacks.

Florida was one of four schools and three SEC programs to have two rookies chosen for the team, along with Alabama, LSU and Oregon.

Here’s how the 34 former Gators on NFL rosters fared this week:

  • S Matt Elam (2010-2012), Baltimore Ravens: Missed postseason
  • WR Deonte Thompson (2009-2012), Baltimore Ravens: Missed postseason
  • LB Jon Bostic (2010-2012), Chicago Bears: Missed postseason
  • S Major Wright (2007-2009), Chicago Bears: Missed postseason
  • DE Carlos Dunlap (2007-2009), Cincinnati Bengals: Out of postseason after losing to San Diego in AFC wild-card game
  • S Reggie Nelson (2004-2006), Cincinnati Bengals: Out of postseason after losing to San Diego in AFC wild-card game
  • CB Joe Haden (2007-2009), Cleveland Browns: Missed postseason
  • WR Andre Caldwell (2003-2007), Denver Broncos: 1 reception for 15 yards
  • LB Lerentee McCray (2008-2012), Denver Broncos: Injured reserve – ankle
  • DE Jeremy Mincey (2004-2005), Denver Broncos: 2 tackles, 1 sack, 1 tackle for loss, 1 QB hit
  • RB Chris Rainey (2007-2011), Indianapolis Colts: Injured – ankle (out for season), out of postseason after losing to New England in AFC divisional game
  • OT Xavier Nixon (2009-2012), Indianapolis Colts: DNP, out of postseason after losing to New England in AFC divisional game
  • S Josh Evans (2009-2012), Jacksonville Jaguars: Missed postseason
  • DT Jaye Howard (2007-2011), Kansas City Chiefs: Out of postseason after losing to Indianapolis in AFC wild-card game
  • RB Mike Gillislee (2009-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • LB Jelani Jenkins (2009-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • C Mike Pouncey (2007-2010), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • K Caleb Sturgis (2008-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • DT Shariff Floyd (2010-2012), Minnesota Vikings: Missed postseason
  • LB Brandon Spikes (2006-2009), New England Patriots: Injured reserve – knee
  • S Will Hill (2008-2010), New York Giants: Missed postseason
  • WR Louis Murphy (2005-2008), New York Giants: Missed postseason
  • DE Jermaine Cunningham (2006-2009), New York Jets: Missed postseason
  • WR David Nelson (2005-2009), New York Jets: Missed postseason
  • WR Riley Cooper (2006-2009), Philadelphia Eagles: Out of postseason after losing to New Orleans in NFC wild-card game
  • RT Marcus Gilbert (2006-2010), Pittsburgh Steelers: Missed postseason
  • C Maurkice Pouncey (2007-2009), Pittsburgh Steelers: Missed postseason
  • DT Ray McDonald (2002-2006), San Francisco 49ers: 3 tackles
  • WR Percy Harvin (2006-2008), Seattle Seahawks: 3 receptions for 21 yards, 1 carry for 9 yards, suffered a concussion late in first half, ruled out for NFC divisional game against San Francisco
  • CB Janoris Jenkins (2008-2010), St. Louis Rams: Missed postseason
  • RB Jeff Demps (2008-2011), Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Missed postseason
  • QB Rex Grossman (1999-2002), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason
  • OL Maurice Hurt (2006-2010), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason
  • TE Jordan Reed (2009-2012), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason

For more on the Gators make sure to follow us on Twitter (@HailFloridaHail,@BrettKaplan13 and @laynejweitzel).

Tags: Caleb Sturgis Florida Gators Jordan Reed NFL

comments powered by Disqus