Jan 5, 2014; Green Bay, WI, USA; The NFL Wild Card logo on the field prior to the 2013 NFC wild card playoff football game between the San Francisco 49ers and the Green Bay Packers at Lambeau Field. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Florida Gator Alumni and the NFL Playoffs: Who's In and Who's Out

The NFL playoffs began this past weekend. Twenty-two former Gators on 12 teams missed the postseason, while 12 former Gators on eight teams were either on first-round byes or competed in wild-card games. Out of the eight teams that were playoff-eligible, Cincinnati, Kansas City and Philadelphia lost their wild-card games, Indianapolis and San Francisco won theirs and Denver, New England and Seattle were on byes. This means that eight former Gators on five teams will continue in their quest for a Super Bowl title.

Here’s how the 34 former Gators on NFL rosters fared this week:

  • S Matt Elam (2010-2012), Baltimore Ravens: Missed postseason
  • WR Deonte Thompson (2009-2012), Baltimore Ravens: Missed postseason
  • LB Jon Bostic (2010-2012), Chicago Bears: Missed postseason
  • S Major Wright (2007-2009), Chicago Bears: Missed postseason
  • DE Carlos Dunlap (2007-2009), Cincinnati Bengals: 4 tackles
  • S Reggie Nelson (2004-2006), Cincinnati Bengals: 4 tackles
  • CB Joe Haden (2007-2009), Cleveland Browns: Missed postseason
  • WR Andre Caldwell (2003-2007), Denver Broncos: First-round bye
  • LB Lerentee McCray (2008-2012), Denver Broncos: First-round bye
  • DE Jeremy Mincey (2004-2005), Denver Broncos: First-round bye
  • RB Chris Rainey (2007-2011), Indianapolis Colts: Injured – ankle (out for season)
  • OT Xavier Nixon (2009-2012), Indianapolis Colts: DNP
  • S Josh Evans (2009-2012), Jacksonville Jaguars: Missed postseason
  • DT Jaye Howard (2007-2011), Kansas City Chiefs: 2 tackles
  • RB Mike Gillislee (2009-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • LB Jelani Jenkins (2009-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • C Mike Pouncey (2007-2010), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • K Caleb Sturgis (2008-2012), Miami Dolphins: Missed postseason
  • DT Shariff Floyd (2010-2012), Minnesota Vikings: Missed postseason
  • LB Brandon Spikes (2006-2009), New England Patriots: First-round bye; injured reserve – knee
  • S Will Hill (2008-2010), New York Giants: Missed postseason
  • WR Louis Murphy (2005-2008), New York Giants: Missed postseason
  • DE Jermaine Cunningham (2006-2009), New York Jets: Missed postseason
  • WR David Nelson (2005-2009), New York Jets: Missed postseason
  • WR Riley Cooper (2006-2009), Philadelphia Eagles: 6 receptions for 68 yards, 1 TD
  • RT Marcus Gilbert (2006-2010), Pittsburgh Steelers: Missed postseason
  • C Maurkice Pouncey (2007-2009), Pittsburgh Steelers: Missed postseason
  • DT Ray McDonald (2002-2006), San Francisco 49ers: 4 tackles, .5 sacks, 1 QB hit
  • WR Percy Harvin (2006-2008), Seattle Seahawks: First-round bye
  • CB Janoris Jenkins (2008-2010), St. Louis Rams: Missed postseason
  • RB Jeff Demps (2008-2011), Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Missed postseason
  • QB Rex Grossman (1999-2002), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason
  • OL Maurice Hurt (2006-2010), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason
  • TE Jordan Reed (2009-2012), Washington Redskins: Missed postseason

For more on the Gators make sure to follow us on Twitter (@HailFloridaHail,@BrettKaplan13 and @laynejweitzel).

Tags: Florida Gators NFL

comments powered by Disqus